May at its Most Magical

Guillemots

Yesterday a couple of members of the Kirkwood family combined like the smoothest of zips to bring to you the best of the Spring wildlife from the coast of South Devon.

Henry Kirkwood of henrykirkwoodfilmmaking and Rupert Kirkwood the Lone Kayaker and old geezer in the not too distant future.

Although it was essentially sunny the fog came and went in a rather worrying fashion from a heading offshore in a kayak perspective. A monstrous car transporter that was picking up a pilot simply disappeared as a spooky veil of mist enveloped it. I nearly leapt out of my seat when it sounded it’s foghorn…so boomingly loud my ribcage and fillings reverberated in unison. And my spleen as well, I think. Something down there, anyway.

The sea was initially quiet so, steering well clear of the main seabird breeding colony to avoid any possible disturbance, I sneaked along the coast to admire the coastal birds which were looking fine in their breeding-plumage summer outfits. Smart enough to attend any ornithological summer ball.

Razorbill

Most of the Shags had already cast off their teddy-boy quiffs but one was reluctant to let go of its hall-mark hairstyle.

Shag…looking cool

The local seals were full of the joys of spring. As I paddle past an island two swam behind me and huffed and puffed as they followed, as they so often do. One was a big bull Grey Seal but the other, to my great surprise, was a Harbour…aka Common…Seal, and a really attractively marked individual.

Harbour Seal

These are not common at all and only the second I have encountered along the open coast along this area of South Devon.

During a lull in the wildlife action I partook in a spot of kayak speliology. I really don’t like caves as they are always cold and dark and frequently have weird noises coming from the darkest corner. However I couldn’t resist a quick ‘nose’.

There’s no need for me to drone on any more because the whole day is summed up nicely in son Henry’s five minute film. He was my companion yesterday and was the first to spot a small pod of dolphins when I had just about given up hope of seeing any. A day with dolphins is a day complete, so I was very pleased to see them indeed.

Henry has two prime qualities: he has eyes as sharp as any Peregrine Falcon and he puts together some outstanding film sequences. No coincidence as he is Henry of henrykirkwoodfilmmaking of the wildlife variety.

Just one comment about the following minifilm. You will hear me explain that I am ‘surrounded’ by a family pod of four Common Dolphins. The mother and young calf are a little wary so stay at a distance. The two juveniles are about as unwary as it is possible to be and cavort around my kayak at unbelievable speed, in a more playful manner than I have probably ever seen.

Ruminating about this encounter today, I think that these two young dolphins might be last year’s twins from the mother with the young calf…or maybe the year before. There was no other mother nearby and these two looked a bit too young to be without a guardian nearby.

Maybe I am wrong and have overthought all this…but they look to be exactly the same size and certainly have a strong connection when it comes to larking about!

Enjoy the film:

Amazing May Day in South Devon. Film by Henry Kirkwood

Here’s the view from the kayak seat…look at those little dolphins go!!

Leave a comment